When someone gets behind the wheel after drinking, they are typically not thinking about the worst-case scenario. The tragic reality is that many people end up getting killed in accidents involving a drunk driver. If you were arrested and charged for a DUI following an accident in California, and someone died as a result of that accident, you may also be charged with vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated or gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated.
Earlier this year, Utah adopted a new law lowering the maximum blood alcohol content for drivers to .05, the lowest in the country. A new California bill may mean the same thing for California.
Last month, California lawmakers were presented a bill that calls for a significant reduction in the amount of alcohol you can have in your system while driving. AB 1713 would lower the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) from .08 percent to .05 percent.